DONNAFUGATA

PRESS RELEASE

José Rallo wins the Firenze Donna Prize 2010

The award ceremony held on March 20 in the Cinquecento room of Palazzo Vecchio

José Rallo of Donnafugata is one of the "talented women" winning the **2010 Premio Firenze Donna** devoted to women who in their professions, businesses or social commitment have distinguished themselves outstandingly.

The motive for selection reads: "For being the face and voice of one of Italy's most prestigious wineries and also the female symbol of Sicily's innovative territorial growth. Moreover, successfully combining business commitment with an uncommon musical talent".

This prestigious award – now in its 19th year – is given to her in the "**Enterprise**" section by the sponsoring committee chaired by Maria Oliva Scaramuzzi. The roster of eighteen former winners of the prize includes famous women like Carla Fracci, Gae Aulenti, Letizia Moratti, Cristina Muti and many other leaders in Italy's economic, social and artistic life.

José Rallo said: "I dedicate this award to all the women entrepreneurs in southern Italy who possess a passion for doing things well and the determination to build a better, and cleaner world for future generations".

The award ceremony was held in Florence on March 20 in the fascinating Cinquecento room in Palazzo Vecchio. As the statute of the award requires, each prizewinner was presented by an authoritative, well-known person outlining her personal and professional profile. Professor **Piero Barucci**, famous economist and former Italian Treasury Minister, introduced José Rallo.

Marsala: March 28, 2010

Alessia Panzeca – International Press Office alessia.panzeca@gmail.com cell. +39 335 6522242 Ferdinando Calaciura – Italian Press Office calaciura@granviasc.it cell. +39 338 322 9837

Firenze Donna 2010, women awarded

1) Istitutions	- Immacolata Postiglione - Protezione Civile
2) Fashion	 Patrizia Bacci Biondi - Roy Roger's
3) Journalism	- Lilli Gruber - La7
Business	 Josè Rallo - Donnafugata
5) International	- Prof.s Daniela Salvemini, Dept. of Pharmacology St. Louis Univ.